Johns Gospel: Allegorical or Sacramental?


 

Johns Gospel: Allegorical or Sacramental

by Patrick Miron working4christ2

[QUOTE] Uncles post “I didn’t mean that Luke was in his 70s, but that his Gospel was written in the 70sAD…..and most NT experts agree that he wrote Acts of the Apostles.

“John did not attempt to write historic facts. That was not his purpose. He wrote in allegories, on purpose*.( This reminds me of when my best friend died. One of our close group of 4 said that he wanted to write a memoir…and would we all write something of our memories. I said No, but I will write some poems to capture the feelings. So I know what John is all about.)[/QUOTE]

*Definition of ALLEGORY  [Merriam Webster’s Dictionary] “the expression by “symbolic” fictional figures and actions of truths or generalizations about human existence; also: an instance (as in a story or painting) of such expression”

* Johns Gospel is quite long. I have often heard of it referenced as the “Sacramental Gospel”**; BUT I have NEVER heard of it being written in an “allegorical sense” except perhaps by unbelievers such as Fundamentalist christians, and your Uncle now is claiming. **

http://www.salvationhistory.com/studies/courses/audio/john

These are Teachings from John are what Heretic’s and “christians” unguided by the Holy Spirit CHOOSE to call allegorical passages. Forget Not that a Lie, remains a lie; no matter how many believe it.

In reading Johns Gospel, which is historically the latest  and last one written one must keep in mind the concept of the seven sacraments had not yet been fully developed “by The Church:

{ Mt. 16:19-20 & 28: 19-20}, and that John omits things that other apostles have already taught officially. {John 20 : 30-31 & John 21: 25}. Today’s very common Secular Humanism; lacking totally any Faith and little if any assistance form the Holy Spirit simply cannot grasp anything that the human mind; eye and logic [if and when its even applied] cannot see; hear; smell or touch. How very SAD!

Isaiah 55:6-10 “Seek ye the Lord, while he may be found: call upon him, while he is near. Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unjust man his thoughts, and let him return to the Lord, and he will have mercy on him, and to our God: for he is bountiful to forgive. For my thoughts are not your thoughts: nor your ways my ways, saith the Lord. [9] For as the heavens are exalted above the earth, so are my ways exalted above your ways, and my thoughts above your thoughts. And as the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and return no more thither, but soak the earth, and water it, and make it to spring, and give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater” John 20:29 “Jesus saith to him: Because thou hast seen me, Thomas, thou hast believed: blessed are they that have not seen, and have believed.”

Baptism: John : 3:22 After these things Jesus and his disciples came into the land of Judea: and there he abode with them, and baptized.

Confirmation: John 1:32And John gave testimony, saying: I saw the Spirit coming down, as a dove from heaven, and he remained upon him. John 3:6 “That which is born of the flesh, is flesh; and that which is born of the Spirit, is spirit. John 3:8“The Spirit breatheth where he will; and thou hearest his voice, but thou knowest not whence he cometh, and whither he goeth: so is every one that is born of the Spirit”

Reconciliation /Sacrament of Penance: 1John.1 Verses 8 to 10

“If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just, and will forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.” 1John.5 Verses 16 to 17 “If any one sees his brother committing what is not a mortal sin, he will ask, and God will give him life for those whose sin is not mortal. There is sin which is mortal; I do not say that one is to pray for that. All wrongdoing is sin,  but there is sin which is not mortal. John 20: 21-23 He [Jesus] said therefore to them again: Peace be to you. As the Father hath sent me, I also send you. When he had said this, he breathed on them; and he said to them: Receive ye the Holy Ghost. Whose sins you shall forgive, they are forgiven them; and whose sins you shall retain, they are retained”

Eucharist: ALL of John Chapter Six; but notably the BREAD of Life Discourse; specially verses 36 -70

“But I said unto you, that you also have seen me, and you believe not…..

[some of; but NOT all]

The Jews therefore murmured at him, because he had said: I am the living bread which came down from heaven. And they said: Is not this Jesus, the son of Joseph, whose father and mother we know? How then saith he, I came down from heaven? Jesus therefore answered, and said to them: Murmur not among yourselves. No man can come to me, [can understand without the Holy Spirits help]  except the Father, who hath sent me, draw him; and I will raise him up in the last day. Amen, amen I say unto you: He that believeth in me, hath everlasting life. I am the bread of life. Your fathers did eat manna in the desert, and are dead. This is the bread which cometh down from heaven; that if any man eat of it, he may not die.  I am the living bread which came down from heaven. If any man eat of this bread, he shall live for ever; and the bread that I will give, is my flesh, for the life of the world. The Jews therefore strove among themselves, saying: How can this man give us his flesh to eat? Then Jesus said to them: Amen, amen I say unto you: Except you eat the flesh of the Son of man, and drink his blood, you shall not have life in you. He that eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath everlasting life: and I will raise him up in the last day. For my flesh is meat indeed: and my blood is drink indeed. [MEANING here His SOON to be Glorified Body after the Resurrection]  He that eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, abideth in me, and I in him. [Which IS precisely what takes place in Catholic Holy Communion] … Many therefore of his disciples, hearing it, said: This saying is hard, and who can hear it? [AND like your Uncle: Abandoned Christ /God] …?  It is the spirit that quickeneth: [It is “The Spirit =Me God who saves; NOT even MY Own MORTAL Body can do that; But my Resurrected and Glorified Body can and DOES:  SEE John 4:23-24 “God IS SPIRIT & Truth”]   the flesh profiteth nothing. The words that I have spoken to you, are spirit and life. But there are some of you that believe not. For Jesus knew from the beginning, who they were that did not believe, and who he was, that would betray him. And he said: Therefore did I say to you, that no man can come to me, unless it be given him by my Father. [Guided by the Holy Spirit]  After this many of his disciples went back; and walked no more with him. Then Jesus said to the twelve: Will you also go away? [ABANDON ME TOO?] And Simon Peter answered him: Lord, to whom shall we go? thou hast the words of eternal life. And we have believed and have known, that thou art the Christ, the Son of God”

Ordination: [indirectly] John 20:21-23 “As the Father hath sent me, I also send you. When he had said this, he breathed on them; and he said to them: Receive ye the Holy Ghost. Whose sins you shall forgive, they are forgiven them; and whose sins you shall retain, they are retained”

Marriage: Not specified except for the First Miracle was worked at the Marriage Feast of Cana; thus raising its dignity.

Last Rites: Anointing Luke 9:2 “And he sent them to preach the kingdom of God, and to heal the sick. Mt. 10: 1-8 “And having called his twelve disciples together, he gave them power over unclean spirits, to cast them out, and to heal all manner of diseases, and all manner of infirmities. And the names of the twelve apostles are these: The first, Simon who is called Peter, and Andrew his brother, James the son of Zebedee, and John his brother, Philip and Bartholomew, Thomas and Matthew the publican, and James the son of Alpheus, and Thaddeus, Simon the Cananean, and Judas Iscariot, who also betrayed him. These twelve Jesus sent: commanding them, … Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse the lepers, cast out devils: freely have you received, freely give”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One comment on “Johns Gospel: Allegorical or Sacramental?

  1. […] ← Johns Gospel: Allegorical or Sacramental? Questions On Adam and Eve for Catholics → […]

Leave a Reply

