Why was there “No Room” at “The Inn?”


Why was their no Room at the Inn

by Pat Miron

At the risk of demeaning my self; I confess to every year around  Christmas time, pondering why there was “no Room at the Inn” for a pregnant women, and her husband in the city of David? Both true children of Israel.

Luke 2:6-11”And it came to pass, that when they were there, her days were accomplished, that she should be delivered. And she brought forth her firstborn son, and wrapped him up in swaddling clothes, and laid him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn. And there were in the same country shepherds watching, and keeping the night watches over their flock. And behold an angel of the Lord stood by them, and the brightness of God shone round about them; and they feared with a great fear.  And the angel said to them: Fear not; for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, that shall be to all the people: For, this day, is born to you a Saviour, who is Christ the Lord, in the city of David. And this shall be a sign unto you. You shall find the infant wrapped in swaddling clothes, and laid in a manger”

It seems to me only two possibilities could exist. Either the Inn-Keeper had in fact “sold out” all his available rooms; or he had succumbed to the greed so common in our self serving, very human nature; and was holding out for more wealthy prospects for tenants?

This brings to mind the two choices man faces when confronted with “truth.” “Submission or denial are the only options open to us. Making alternations, obstinacy, or even having received improper or inadequate instructions are simply various forms of denial, because “truth” must be a singular reality.

This season ought to be for all Christians one if introspection.  Relating this need to the situation of Mary and Joseph, we might ask ourselves: As I myself am the “Inn” that the Christ child seeks “room in.“ Do I have room? Do I make ROOM for Christ in “My personal “In” ? Is my mind, heart, soul open for Christ as MY invited and special Guest? Have I given Jesus the Christmas present that He seeks? Have I returned “my will” in favor of His Divine will? … Both Christ and me can’t be in charge; so am I able; am I willing to allow Christ to take charge of my life?

Is there room in “My In” for Christ?

; or might I, like the infamous Inn Keeper be holding out for a more lucrative self-serving tenant?

Heb.6: 10 “For God is not sounjust as to overlook your work and the love which you showed for his sake in serving the saints, as you still do.”

Leave a Reply

